# Rappahannock Rapidan Regional Commission February 28, 2024 Regular Meeting RRRC Board Room

### **MINUTES**

	<b>Culpeper County</b>		Town of Culpeper
X	John Egertson, Treasurer	X	Chris Hively
X	Tom Underwood	X	Pranas Rimeikis
	Fauquier County		Town of Gordonsville
X	Edwin W. 'Ike' Broaddus	X	Robert K. Coiner, Vice-Chair
X	Janelle Downes		Town of Madison
	<b>Madison County</b>		William Lamar
X	Dustin Dawson		Town of Orange
X	Jonathon Weakley	X	Frederick W. 'Rick' Sherman, Jr.
	Orange County	X	Greg Woods
X	Crystal Hale		Town of Remington
X	Theodore Voorhees	X	William E. Polk, Jr.
	Rappahannock County		Town of The Plains
X	Garrey W. Curry, Jr.		Lori B. Sisson
X	Debbie Donehey		Town of Warrenton
		X	Frank Cassidy
			William T. Semple II
			Town of Washington
		X	Fred Catlin, Chair

Staff Present: Michelle Edwards (virtual), Mallory Grady, Jessica Kelly, Jennifer Little (virtual), Patrick Mauney

#### 1. Call to Order

Chair Catlin called meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

## 2. Pledge of Allegiance

Chair Catlin led Commissioners in the Pledge of Allegiance.

### 3. Roll Call & Quorum Determination

A quorum of the Commission was confirmed. Chair Catlin welcomed Commissioners Broaddus, Dawson, Hale, Polk, Rimeikis and Sherman to the Commission and each new member provided a brief introduction.

#### 4. Agenda Approval

Upon motion by J Weakley, 2<sup>nd</sup> by R Coiner, the agenda was approved ayes all.

#### 5. Public Comment

There were no comments from the public.

## 6. Presentations and Special Recognition

Chair Catlin noted that a Resolution of Thanks was prepared for Past Chair Meaghan Taylor following her eight years of service to the Commission. P Mauney noted that her service included service as Treasurer, Vice-Chair and Chair and that her support for staff and the work of the Commission was greatly appreciated.

F Catlin moved to adopt the Resolution, 2<sup>nd</sup> by R Coiner. The motion carried unanimously and P Mauney was directed to provide the Resolution to Mrs. Taylor at a future date.

#### 7. Consent Agenda

- a) Minutes December 13, 2023
- b) RRRC application to USDA for Farm to School Grant
- c) RRRC application to DRPT for FY 2025 Section 5310 Grant
- d) RRRC application to DRPT for FY 2025 Commuter Assistance Program Operating grant
- e) RRRC application to Federal Transit Administration for ICAM grant
- f) FY 2024 Year to Date Revenues and Expenditures

Chair Catlin reviewed the consent agenda items. T Voorhees moved to approve the consent agenda, 2<sup>nd</sup> by R Coiner. The motion carried unanimously.

#### 8. Executive Director's Report

Chair Catlin asked P Mauney to review the Director's report. P Mauney welcomed new staff member Jessica Kelly who joined the Commission in January. He reviewed two pending budget amendments that may provide additional state funding to the Commission and asked Commissioners to consider voicing support in any discussions with state legislators. He also provided updates on the recent Point in Time Count conducted by Foothills Housing Network partners, the launch of the Rapp Connect transportation contract with Virginia Regional Transit and Hazard Mitigation survey that is open for responses through March.

Finally, P Mauney reviewed the agency financial summaries and recent information received from the Department of Environmental Quality regarding pending changes to the Water Supply program.

## 9. Old Business

a) PDC Housing Development Program

P Mauney reviewed a brief slide presentation providing background of the PDC Housing Development program for new Commissioners and sharing status updates for the five projects funded through the program. A copy of the slides is available with the meeting minutes.

- b) Regional Broadband Projects Status Commissioners briefly shared updates on broadband projects ongoing in the region.
- c) Corridor of Statewide Significance Request Route 3

Chair Catlin asked P Mauney to review the request relating to Route 3. P Mauney noted that the Commission tabled this item in December to allow for local governments that would be impacted to consider their positions. Commissioners Underwood and Egertson confirmed that Culpeper County Board of Supervisors voted to support the designation and Commissioners Hively and Rimeikis indicated similar from the Town of Culpeper. P Mauney again stated that any potential benefits would likely be longer-term, but that staff did not anticipate any negative impacts from such a designation. T Voorhees moved approval of the resolution, 2<sup>nd</sup> by R Coiner. The motion carried unanimously.

d) RRRC Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy
Chair Catlin asked P Mauney to review the update on the Comprehensive Economic
Development Strategy. P Mauney noted the presentation from the recent CEDS
Strategy Committee meeting focused on developing draft strategy areas and assessing
implementation stage for each strategy. He reviewed the CEDS timeline and shared
that the draft plan would likely be available in April with an anticipated final
presentation to the Commission in June.

#### 10. New Business

a) Strategic Planning Introduction: RRRC History & Today Chair Catlin reminded Commissioners that there would be a facilitated strategic planning session in concert with the April meeting of the Commission. He asked P Mauney to review relevant details in preparation for that meeting. P Mauney stated that he had given today's presentation in April 2016 and, with the change in Commission members in the eight years since that time, believed a brief history of the organization and Regional Commissions generally was warranted. A copy of the slides is included with the minutes and Commissioners discussed information that would be beneficial as part of the April meeting.

b) Election of Officers & Executive Committee for terms beginning March 1, 2024 Chair Catlin brought forth a slate of officers and Executive Committee members that were developed by the nominating committee. The slate as presented:

Chair – Fred Catlin, Town of Washington
Vice-Chair – Bob Coiner, Town of Gordonsville
Treasurer – John Egertson, Culpeper County
Executive Committee – William Semple II, Town of Warrenton
Executive Committee – Ted Voorhees, Orange County
Executive Committee – Jonathon Weakley, Madison County

He asked for any nominations from the floor. With no nominations from the floor, G Curry moved to approve the slate as presented, 2<sup>nd</sup> by D Donehey. The motion carried ayes all.

## 11. Closed Session

## 12. Regional Roundtable

Commission members shared information of note from their communities.

# 13. Adjournment

Upon motion by R Coiner, 2<sup>nd</sup> by D Donehey, Chair Catlin adjourned the meeting at 2:57 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted by:

Patrick L. Mauney Secretary & Executive Director